Legal Stuff

Visibility

In general anything shared within Discord will be treated as having the same level of visibility as the place it was sent. Things you share and commands you use may be available to server admins depending on how the bot is being configured on their server.

The only messages that will be kept visible for a short period in logs available to the bot or its developers are explicit command invocations that cause the bot to take some kind of process. User generated content such as tags, autoresponse messages, or profile bios may also be subject to moderation if such content would place the bot at risk of Discord's own moderation.


Acceptable use

When using 42, follow Discord's terms of service and community guidelines.

  • Don't post anything illegal.
  • Don't make the bot spam mentions.
  • Don't make the bot break Discord's policies.
  • Don't make the bot break YouTube's Terms Of Service when using /youtube.

If you or one of your server members do something to put 42 in jeopardy, you will be blacklisted from using new commands. If you are in a position of responsibility on your server, 42 will be removed from your server and may not be reinvited.


Your Data

42 will access chat messages within any channels/servers it has Read Messages access to in order to provide services. This data is kept in volitile storage for a short period to provide lookback related services to individual Discord server administration.
Message content is not stored or used for purposes other than:

  • Channel pruning services. Message history will be scanned when server moderators request a channel be pruned using a message content filter. Any message text that matches the prune filter will be deleted.
  • Per-Server moderation logs. If enabled by the server administration, messages deleted within that server matching configured criteria (at most, up to 15 minutes old) are persisted in the server's modlog channel. This data is the responsibility of the server administration, and does not get accessed again by 42.
  • Autoresponse effects. If enabled, 42 will listen for certain trigger text and respond with a suitable reaction. The specific triggers and responses are limited and hand-picked, and does not use or share messages to generative AI.
  • Tag providers. Users can request one or more messages from the chat history to be included in their tag scripts. These tag scripts are only capable of reading and modifying the message content and then posting the modifications back to the channel the original messages were sent to.
  • Channel archival. The archive and quote commands will take a specified number of messages from the chat log, and write them to a text file, which is immediately posted to the channel invoking the command before being discarded. This file is the responsibility of the calling user.

Message content is not transferred to third parties, fed into AI, or generally used at all outside of the server those messages belong to.

If a command looks like it would need to store data, then it does.
This data is stored only for the purpose of making that command work, i.e. tags store their user generated content, profiles store whatever you put in them, etc.

If a command doesn't look like it should need to store data, then the only thing stored is the temporary log saying the command was used.
The purpose of this data is to passively monitor for abuses and identify issues that may require appropriate moderation action be taken.

If an otherwise valid command is used, and 42 does not respond with anything, then an error log containing the command invocation and relevant context is saved.
This gets used for debugging, and discarded once the problem is solved.

All the data is kept to 42. Nothing is shared with or sold to third party platforms or processors. We don't need that legislative axe hovering over our neck.

42 does not use oauth2, cookies, or similar technology that would allow any form of direct or indirect access to information on users devices.


YouTube

42 uses YouTube API Services to power the +youtube command (and its alias, +yt)

The +youtube command will send your input query to YouTube using YouTube's Search API.
Only your query is sent to Google for processing, no other user data is associated, still by using this command, you are bound to YouTube's Terms of Service.

Once the controls on the response message expires, all data associated with the search results are deleted from the bot, and the last posted URL remains in the chat.
No other data is collected, stored, or processed.

Embeds to YouTube content are provided by Discord directly, not 42. 42 will only ever share video URLs and Titles.
Google, however, still requires me to link their privacy policy: https://policies.google.com/privacy.


Data Deletion

If you want your data deleting from 42, just send an email to lanta@rockett.space with relevant IDs. I can delete any data 42 is storing in her database, but I cannot delete command response messages from Discord.

Return to top.